The Book of Kells dates from circa 800 AD and is one of the most beautiful illuminated manuscripts in the world, comprised of richly decorated texts of the gospels in Latin. More than half a million visitors flock to Trinity College Dublin each year to view the Book of Kells.
The main chamber of the Old Library, the Long Room, is nearly 65 metres in length, and houses around 200,000 of the Library's oldest books.
The Cathedral was founded in the year c.1030 by Sitriuc, King of the Dublin Norsemen. Christ Church Cathedral is one of Dublin's oldest landmarks. The Cathedral and the exhibition ‘Treasures of Christ Church’ reflect 1000 years of history, architecture and worship in Ireland. The Choral services are sung by the Cathedral choir, which traces its origins to the choir school founded in 1480 and is famous for the taking part in the first performance of Handel's Messiah. ‘Treasures of Christ Church’ displays a unique range of manuscripts, historic artefacts and spectacular examples of gold and silverware. Christ Church Cathedral holds a series of concerts, recitals and talks every year.
Dublin Castle is situated in the heart of historic Dublin. The city gets its name from the Dubh Linn or Black Pool (dubh = black), on the site of the present Castle Gardens and Coach House. The Castle stands on a strategic site at the junction of the River Liffey and its tributary, the Poddle. The original fortification is thought to have been an early Gaelic Ring Fort.
Later a Viking Fortress stood on this site. A portion of this is on view to visitors at The Undercroft.
The south range of the Main Courtyard houses the magnificent State Apartments, built as the residential quarters of the Vice-regal court. They are now the venue for Ireland's Presidencies of the European Community, Presidential Inaugurations and State Functions.
The State Apartments, Undercroft and Chapel Royal are open to visitors. On occasion, the State Apartments may be closed for State purposes.
Tel: +353 1 882 6500 Web: www.glasnevintrust.ie
‘Ireland's History Carved in Stone’ is a unique Victorian burial place and the final resting place of over 1.1million ordinary and extraordinary men and women, who helped shape Ireland’s past and present. The Glasnevin Trust acts as guardian to their stories. The cemetery is home to the burial plots of the Irish Independence Leaders and Republicans dating back to 1832, and also to the Crypt of Daniel O'Connell.
The Spire of Dublin, a landmark in the heart of Dublin City, was unveiled in 2002. 120m high and 3m in diameter at the base, the Spire rises above O’Connell Street, breaking through the roof-line with a slender and elegant movement. It is approximately 15cm in diameter at its apex.
The striking and innovative monument stands in the middle of O'Connell Street just across from the famous General Post Office. During daylight, the sky, streetscape and passers-by are reflected in its stainless steel surface. From the base up to a height of approximately 10m, the stainless steel is partially polished with an abstract design to provide a more reflective surface than the remainder of the Spire.
From dusk, the stainless steel surface of The Spire reflects the ambient lighting of the streetscape. The tip is illuminated by a light source within, providing a beacon in the night sky over Dublin. The Spire has its roots in the ground and its light in the sky.
Old Houses of Parliament, College Green
This was the first purpose built Parliament House in the world and was constructed at a great time of public confidence in Dublin. The original building designed by Edward Pearce consisted of the central section with its huge colonnades and was built between 1729 and 1739. It forms only part of the existing structure. Pearce was knighted in the building on the 10 March 1731.
The Storehouse was originally built in 1904 to house the Guinness fermentation process. In 2002, the Guinness Storehouse was reopened and it has become one of Dublin’s favourite tourism attractions. The new Storehouse houses a model of a giant pint glass and is spread across seven floors, culminating in the famous Gravity Bar on the top of the building.
Experience Gaelic Games gives visitors a chance to learn more about and then play the unique Irish games of Hurling, Gaelic Football and Handball. They can also learn some Irish “Ceilí” dancing and how to beat an Irish “Bodhrán” drum. Minimum group size is five people.
Sky Line Tour at Croke Park
Tel: +353 1 819 2323 Web: www.skylinecrokepark.ie
Lasting approximately 90 minutes, the Sky Line tour at Croke Park features a specially- designed walkway suspended above the Croke Park pitch, offering a view of Ireland’s most famous arena from a completely different angle. There are five viewing platforms on the 0.6km rooftop walkway. Admission includes a multilingual audio guide and admission to the GAA Museum.
The Ha'penny Bridge is Dublin's oldest pedestrian crossing over the River Liffey.
It was erected in 1816 as the Wellington Bridge and it acquired its better known nickname from the halfpenny toll levied on all users of the bridge up to 1919.
It is one of the earliest cast-iron structures of its kind.
The National Archives
The National Archives operate a Genealogy Advisory Service from 10am to 1pm Mon to Friday. On your first visit you will need to bring a photo ID and proof of address. www.nationalarchives.ie
The National Library
The National Library offers a free Genealogy Advisory Service, which is an ideal starting point for those commencing family history research. No appointment is necessary. www.nli.ie
Leinster House was erected in 1745. Designed by Richard Cassels as a residence for the Duke of Leinster, today it is the seat of the two Houses of the Oireachtas (National Parliament), comprising Dáil Éireann (the House of Representatives) and Seanad Éireann (the Senate).
The public is admitted when the Parliament is not sitting. Advance notice is required.
Molly Malone Statue
The Molly Malone statue is located at the end of Grafton Street, opposite Trinity College. Molly Malone was a semi-historical/legendary figure made famous by the song 'Cockles and Mussels', a Dublin anthem.
She worked as a fishmonger but also as a prostitute and died in one of the outbreaks of cholera that regularly used to sweep the city of Dublin.
St. Stephen’s Green was formerly common land that was enclosed in 1663. One of Dublin’s most famous attractions, this 9 hectare public park is full of flowerbeds, shrubberies and walks. The lake is a central focal point for all visitors, its resident ducks very well fed as a consequence.